I have been wondering why people refuse to respond when I tell them that I do hospice, why they shut up or change the subject? What I am really wondering is what reason I do it, decided to do it?

I have written earlier about going towards that that I fear, but once that is overcome there is the next reason:

Intensity

The focus of being is on this one place, this end place, this boundary between being and the infinite black void; to accompany someone to that line may be about the most intense experience of my life, and of any life that I can imagine. I hope that when it is my turn to go over that edge that there will be someone there to hold my hand, to say goodbye, just to be there.

The strength of that experience makes the affirmation of life stronger; there is more joy at watching the birds at the feeder strive to get what they need to live.

And that may be all that I can put down here at this time.